In October 2019, and with unanimous support from his fellow Board members, Martin Tewinkel of Olympus was voted as the new Chair of the Euro-BioImaging Industry Board. Martin takes up this post following on from his success Vice Chair in previous years. The Board also welcomed Takaharu Sasaoka from Nikon as the new Vice Chair.

The Board gave immense thanks to the previous Chair, Christoph Thumser, for all his help and support over the last years. The Coordinator commented “Christoph was absolutely instrumental in the establishment and successful continuity of the Euro-BioImaging Industry Board in its aim to strengthen imaging research across Europe. I am sad to see him go but wish him best of luck in his new role at Eppendorf and, of course, I am looking forward to working more closely with the new Chairs in these exciting times”.